Life Within My Own Skin

I will be the first one to say, I am my own best friend. I really am. I am quite content filling my day’s activities with no company whatsoever but my own. I believe that’s why writing fits so well into my life. Writing is something that requires uninterrupted solitude. My number one hobby is fishing, and ninety-five percent of the time I fish alone. When I do go with someone else, it is always when they call me. And I do enjoy the company. And the fact that these same people continue to invite me fishing says that they must also enjoy my company. But the bottom line is I enjoy my solitude more.

Outside of my wonderful wife, I honestly believe I could live the rest of my life alone. And if I ponder on that thought, it somehow bothers me, though I don’t quite know why. Now, don’t get me wrong. Like I said, I am married and could not imagine my life without Maxine in it.  Yes, in my humor articles, I sometime tell grand tales of my crazy stunts and ideas, which creates conflicts with her. And, believe me, many of them are true. But, overall, we get along famously. And I will be the first one to say I would not like the idea of coming home to an empty home. I did it after my last wife past away. I didn’t like it then, and I know I wouldn’t like it now.

There are people I know who do not have the slightest idea how to operate during their spare time if they don’t have company. Some guys I know will not go fishing unless they have someone to go fishing with. My wife has girlfriends who if found by themselves are immediately on their cell phones attempting to hook up with someone, or at least talk or text for a few minutes. Bottom line, there are many that simply do no feel comfortable being alone. Thankfully, my wife functions quite well by herself. She has no problem driving solo two hundred miles to something that interests her. Maybe that’s another reason why our marriage has prospered. She is very independent.

Another reason I enjoy my own company is I like quiet solitude. If alone, many people I see have ear phones hanging from their ears, listening to music. It seems as if their mind has to be invaded with something, anything but quiet. Though I enjoy music as well as the next person, I seldom listen to the radio in my truck, or anywhere else for that matter. I very much enjoy being swallowed up in my own thoughts. Granted, my thoughts have gotten me into trouble more times than I care to admit, but they were still my own thoughts. While outside I love the sounds of nature around me. God’s sounds.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t enjoy quiet so as to listen for God’s voice. Quite frankly, quiet or not, he would probably have to kick me square in the keester before he had my attention. Sorry, there is no inspirational message hidden in this post.

Some may call today’s world of always being connected, whether it be electronically or personally,  the norm. I call it sad. But I may also be very bias on the subject. It may all go back to when I was a child. I lived in the country, with any companionship being a mile or more away. There were no computers, internet, Face Book, and electronic games. I was left alone, my only friends being me, myself and I. And we became friends without me even realizing it happened….

Wow, I guess  I just made sense of my own personality. There is nothing troubling about me being  my own best friend. I simply did not have the distractions to hinder it from happening. Sound good? It does to me.

A wise man once said, “Happiness, contentment, and gratification does not come from outside, but from within oneself.”

Though I hold no bias against those who require companionship, I think I will keep my old best friend, myself.  Besides, him and I seldom argue.

9 thoughts on “Life Within My Own Skin

  1. I sure relate to being content alone, the fishing, and shopping. Fishing alone is my therapy after taking a lot of people fishing. You are a better man than me to dance.

  2. It’s amazing, I could have written this post about myself. Are you sure we’re not related? No wonder I was saying nice things about you on my blog today.

  3. It’s funny you say that. Many years ago while talking on the phone with one of my publishers, he made the same comparison, his reason being because of our writings both being of a simpler time

  4. Yes it is. We are retired and loving it. But we both admit part of the reason we are enjoying life together is because we also are both independent individuals. Though we do many things together, we never feel the need for 24/7 company of the other.

Leave a Reply

