Shut Up And Pass The Kleenex!

In our family room there are two recliners across the room from one another, both facing our big screen television on the wall. One is my wife’s, the other mine. On this particular evening we were watching a Hallmark movie. My wife looked across at me with her arrogantly smug grin.

“Sniff, snort, sniff!” I replied as I ran a sleeve across my nose and eyes. “Just shut up and pass the Kleenex.”

Okay, I admit it. I’m the crier in the family! Give me a sad movie and my reaction is always the same. It’s either one that at least brings tears to my eyes, or, if a real tear-jerker, a lower lip and chin that begins quivering. What’s sorry about the whole unmanly reaction is it doesn’t have to be a movie. It can even be a certain song, usually a spiritual. Or it can be someone I care about who begins crying. Just walking into the church we attend can bring a lump to my throat. What’s that about? I mean, please, give me a break!

To me Field Of Dreams is one of several movies at the top of my tear-jerking list. I have seen that movie no less than ten times, and know the ending by heart, but the moment Kevin Cosner says, “Dad, you want to have a catch?” immediately the water works turn on. Every time!

The first time I saw that movie was in a theater with my wife. What made that movie so great was there were so many surprising twists to it. Just about the time I thought I had it figured out, I would be pulled in another direction. I remember starting a chain reaction in the theater. When the words were said, “if you build it, he will come,” and then it shows the young catcher behind the plate, that was when I first realized who the young man  was and why the  ball park was built. I whispered to my wife as I immediately began tearing up, “My Lord, that’s his dad!” The woman seated behind me said, “No!” and immediately began sobbing. Then I heard another woman say, “That’s his father?” and she began bawling. And when Kevin said that classic line, “Dad, you want to have a catch?” that was it. I lost it!

On YouTube there’s a song called “He’s Alive” sang by Dolly Pardon performed at a CMA Awards that tares me up every time I watch it. Another little-known movie that’s on YouTube called “Dinner With A Perfect Stranger” has an ending that really chokes me up.

Many years back there was a movie called “Brian’s Song.” I drank a gallon of water to replace the body water lost to tears from that one. I can even remember tearing up in a supermarket when the theme song to the movie played over the intercom. The old TV show, Little House On The Prairie drained my tear ducts more times than I care to recollect. Anyway, the list goes on and on.

One satisfying note is I passed that gene down to my oldest son. He’s a crier too.

4 thoughts on “Shut Up And Pass The Kleenex!

  1. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Why didn’t I know that that was a chic turn on when I was in my teens? Okay, I already know the answer. It probably kept me out of a lot of trouble.

  2. It is as sure as you are Roderigo,
    Were I the Moor, I would not be Iago:
    In following him, I follow but myself;
    Heaven is my judge, not I for love and duty,
    But seeming so, for my peculiar end:
    For when my outward action doth demonstrate
    The native act and figure of my heart
    In compliment extern, ’tis not long after
    But I will wear my heart upon my sleeve
    For daws to peck at: I am not what I am.

    Richard, my girls think it is the funniest thing in the world to see dad cry at a movie or hearing certain songs.

  3. That is an ode that if been used as a lad, I would have been weary with lasses in my bed. Back at ya! Seriously, that lyric warmed my heart. It really did.

Leave a Reply

